HybridZ

Derek's custom dash work

Derek

Well since i don't have the money to do the motor work I figured I'd start working on my console/center dash setup. I'm running a carputer with a 7" touch screen, and a Vintage Air ac unit. The carputer handles my music, navigation, and engine monitoring through Megasquirt. I've been running a couple different switch and LCD locations and I'm pretty close at this point to a final placement.

The first thing I needed to work out was the center vents. The stock vent just wasn't cutting it with the new A/C unit. I've been kicking this around for a few months and finally settled on 5 series BMW center vents.

The first thing I needed was an adapter from a single 2.5" hose to the twin intakes on the Bimmer vent.

I'm carving the adapter out of type 1 PVC which is really dense. It's the same stuff electrical conduit is made of.

1" blocks laminated together

DSC_0018.jpg

Interior roughed

DSC_0020.jpg

Interior finish cut

DSC_0021.jpg

Fits like a glove

DSC_0022.jpg

Now the tricky part. Machining the exterior

DSC_0025.jpg

Finished adapter

DSC_0027.jpg

Now the switch plate

DSC_0002.jpg

Here is the switch plate with SEM texture paint. I had to raise it up for switch clearance .

DSC_0003.jpg

Here's the BMW vent in place

DSC_0005.jpg

The LCD and the A/c Switch assembly is close. I'll probably pull the bottom of the screen and the switches back towards the console to improve the angle on the screen. When everything is set I'll carve a piece to attach to the console that runs up to the dash and a bezel plate that surrounds the LCD.

DSC_0006.jpg

Tuner Studio

DSC_0007.jpg

Thanks for looking

Derek

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

nice work so far - what frontend is that, and how much did your ac put you back (if you don't mind). Also, did you feel it was necessary to do any kind of upgrade to your alternator for the carputer system?