HybridZ

So, I'm in the process of doing a gen I SBC swap into my 260. I have the JTR swap kit and even the expensive book he offers. I think he needs to read it once and rework his wording/diagrams. I figured it'd be crystal clear after reading through the book, still isnt after doing that a few times. I'm no noob at wiring, tucked several cars, obd swapped several others, and have been doing car audio setups for over 10 years. But I am a noob to carb'd and sbc motors.

I guess I'm confused by his chrysler fuel pump switch.

*From what I gather the Black/yellow wire goes to the sbc starter "S" terminal, and also t's off to the "bottom" terminal (of the chrysler switch as you look at it in the book).?

*That same "bottom" terminal goes to the "+" on the fuel pump?

*The "top" terminal has a fresh wire that connects to the "bat" wire on the HEI distributor (which ties into the black/white wire from the ignition box)

I'm sure my (early) 260 has a oil pressure warning light, but the book says nothing as to where that goes.

This is really bugging the sh!t out of me. Thanks for any help.

Edited by b18crx

b81crx:

The Datsun Z V-8 Conversion Manual (Seventh Edition) is somewhat misleading and inaccurate.  The wire going to the "S" terminal of the starter is a momentary +12 volts to energize the starter ONLY for the time to start the engine.  Tying the bottom of the chrysler three terminal oil pressure activated switch to the "S" terminal provides a continous +12 volts when the engine starts and has built oil pressure to close the three terminal from the top to the bottom terminals of the three terminal oil pressure activated switch providing a continous +12 volts to the fuel pump and IMPROPERLY to the starter keeping the starter engaged when the engine is already running yielding a REALLY BAD noise from the engaged electric starter.