HybridZ

Q45 VLSD tearing up cages

CrayZ

can anyone enlighten me on this converstion. I just bought slammed 68's lq4/280 and the axle pull out is BAD, which i expected but im going to tear into it this afternoon and am looking for a little bit of guidance/do's/dont's/watch out etc. Im completely new to Z's and independent rear suspensions. This will be a learning lesson for me and the begining of a loooooong road with this car.

halfshaft1_zps82d546a5.jpg

Before the CV axles can be installed, they must be shortened slightly. This is accomplished by tapping down on the flange on one end until the cover plate pops off:

halfshaft2_zps0b61659c.jpg

Then remove the circlip, place some tape around the ball bearings so that they don’t fall out, reverse the ball assembly on the shaft, and finally reinstall the circlip:

halfshaft3_zps8f27df50.jpg

The end cap then can be tapped back on, and the shafts are ready to install.

I dug this up on another website and was curious if this relevant to my issue. He shortened the half shaft  so could i lengthen them so they are not pulling out?

What do you mean by "axle pullout is bad" and how do you know?  I've only read one account of a CV axle pulling out and it only did it once because the balls came out of the cage(?) and destroyed themselves. 

Probably best to describe what type of axle you have, 4 bolt or 6 bolt (MM makes a conversion for both), and if you have the MM parts or are asking about them.

I think that those are VLSD axles.  6 bolt 280ZX axles are 3 sets of paired holes.  You probably have the shortnose R200 setup from MM. 

There is a link within this link that shows an install.  It might give you some ideas.  http://www.modern-motorsports.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=74&PHPSESSID=9e25b7fab3e9baf204ae3aa017e3d66f

Here's the link - http://www.modern-motorsports.com/catalog/mm_gallery.php?album=2008+March+Proto+Q45+R200+Mounting+Proven+Brian+G/