HybridZ

280Z dash restoration complete

BitchinZ

This is part of my '77 280Z refurnish and turbo motor swap.  I bought the car in Oregon and brought it to So. Utah.

One thing I just finished was the dash restoration.  When I got the car it had the plastic dash cap glued on it.  When I peeled it off it was completely cracked underneath.  Well, it took tons of time but it turned out better than I would have ever thought.  This is my first time doing a dash and I was very happy with the results.

This is the most recent pic of the car, taken a couple months ago  -

IMG_0369_zpse410dc5f.jpg

Peeled of the dash cap to see what was underneath.  I almost gave up immediately -

mms_picture19_zpse2134d87.jpg

IMG_0375_zps2c0bb99c.jpg

I started picking at the rotten foam -

IMG_0382_zpscefac564.jpg

Using a Dremel I beveled out all the cracks flush.  This is the most important step.  Some of them I had to bevel out several inches.  Any crack I could pick material out of I dremeled out.  At the end of all the small cracks I drilled a circle so they wouldnt spread. Stupidly I didnt get any pictures of the beveling.

I then had to fill the cracks. First I tried the expanding plumbing foam but it sucked so I dug it back out.  Then I tried this NAPA bumper repair kit.  NAPA doesnt make this anymore but theres a guy on ebay selling it.  I ordered two kits but only used a little of the second one.  It says its flexible but it dried very hard -

KGrHqFikE-inee630BPiSsTEw60_35_zpsb070db

IMG_0456_zpseac9f13c.jpg

IMG_0457_zps9237f8c0.jpg

IMG_0459_zpsdeece37f.jpg

This is what it starts to look like after sanding on it -

IMG_0458_zps6e3c3267.jpg