HybridZ

240z Project with Mystery Turbo Motor

This car has been sitting for a while. I know it drove around 3 or 4 years ago at which time the ECU went out. It was in the process of having a MS unit installed when my dad abandoned it altogether and it has been sitting on the lift in my dads garage since then.

I call it a mystery motor because it appears to have had LOTS done to it, but I have no idea what it was. The person who did all the work origonally is dead.

-It needs to have MS finished

-Needs new radiator

-Needs tires

-Needs a good Ole cleaning.

-And im sure it needs a million other things that will end up being giant cans of worms.

I plan on doing all the install work/fabrication needed to get this back in shape.

I have had lots of mechanical experience with BMW's in the past, but no prior experience with S30's. I did a motor swap on a TT Z32, so I have had experience in the Nissan community a little bit, but not crazy involved. Are there any reputable guys on these forums or online that you guys typically use for heads? Or other motor part sourcing? how about parts? whos the recommended go-to company for stock parts? and performance parts?

All info is appreciated!

Heres some pics for those that want to see.

med_gallery_44126_1402_1641358.jpg

med_gallery_44126_1402_453440.jpg

Edited by dirtbiker194

I think we'll need bigger pictures of the engine bay. It appears to be an L series motor, but without block pictures I don't think we can guess which version. I'm going to guess L28ET with the intake and emissions systems trimmed down.

Block code will be on the opposite side from the head stamping(under the manifolds behind the PVC boss). If it says f54 you have an l28et

F54/P90 also came in an N/A version.