HybridZ

L28 Dyno Results - Bad Cam Timing?

ThaPimpShrimp

I got the chance to put my 240z and new motor on a dyno (Free of charge!) today, and got some bad news. I peaked at 148ft/lbs and 124hp to the wheels. Both sad and odd numbers right? Well, the guy let me check my AFR's on the second run, and lo and behold they lean out dangerously after 3500 or so.

This is my first build/swap, and I've never dyno'd a vehicle before, so I'm sure some of you will have a bit more expertise when reading these graphs so I'd love some input. It's looking to me like my cam timing is way off, I can't really think of any other way to explain what's going on here. I didn't set the cam timing myself, I had someone who knows what he's doing do that, but it's possible he made a mistake.

Engine Specs: F54 Block, P90A, Stage III Isky Cam (.490 Lift, 242* @ .050), flat top pistons, ZTherapy SU's (SM needles) tuned pretty well which you can see initially on the AFR chart, E12-80, timing set properly, I believe 14* initial to a total of 37*, headers, 2.5" exhaust, etc.

So with that said, take a look and let me know what you think. Hopefully I'll be able to fix this and pick up some major power. Motor feels super strong right up till about 4,000 so I'm excited what it'll do when setup and tuned right.

post-21848-0-94778200-1416802750_thumb.jpg

post-21848-0-60739500-1416802758_thumb.jpg

I wouldn't run it WOT above 3500RPM until this is fixed. Seems like a float valve or fuel pump issue. If you can't keep the floats full, you'll eventually run lean which seems to be what's happening here.

I considered fuel pump, but discounted it because I figured through one run it shouldn't be emptying the float bowl.. Also what could be wrong with the float bowl that could cause this, just the floats being set wrong?

And yeah, definitely won't be hitting the throttle anymore, I'm glad I discovered this now before I blew the engine.