HybridZ

T5 bellhousing question

This is probably a stupid/simple question to most of you but I'm still learning. I currently have a 400 sbc from a '79 C30 pickup mated to a Saginaw 4 speed, my question is should a WC T5 from an 88-92 f-body bolt right up (to my existing bellhousing) in place of the Saginaw?

I understand I'll have driveshaft, shifter, speedo, etc. to play with, I'm just wondering if I'll need a different bellhousing..

The bell housing used for the The WC T5 transmission clocks  the transmission 15 degrees to the left. The shifter is tilted to the right to compensate for the left clocking of the transmission.  In a Camaro,  this allows the shifter to be  vertical. 

The T5 will mate to other Chevy bell housings, but then the rear mount will not be parallel to the ground i.e. a non T5 bell housing will clock the transmission to the right which also clocks the rear mount to the right. So you would need to fabricate an angled rear mount to allow mounting to a horizontal ross member.  It has been done here by HybridZ members in the past. Search in the Driveline forum.

My first v8 240Z came with a broken SBC 350 mated to a corvette bell housing and Saginaw 4 speed transmission which I replaced with a new engine, T5 bell housing and WC T5 transmission. I had considered not using the T5 bell housing, but rejected the idea because I didn't want to make a custom angled  rear trans mount and it seemed to me that filling/checking the fluid would be problematic considering that the fill plug would be pointing at the ground.

Here is some additional information about T5 transmissions and bell housings:  http://lugnutz65chevystepside.weebly.com/bell-housing-differences.html

http://forums.hybridz.org/topic/7587-bell-housing-the-same-for-t-5-and-saginaw/?hl=%2Bcamaro+%2Bbell+%2Bhousing+%2Btilted&do=findComment&comment=55063