HybridZ

tuning a rodchester qjet ????

Guest ZmeFly

I'm just getting into the V8 scene must say I really like especially since i took the car for a ride yesterday and you should have seen all the face when that little 280 of mine rolled by going bababbabab you know the nice deep rumble of that V-8 coming out of the pipes. but anyway, it seems like the carb is getting tooooo much fuel. goes threw gas like its throwing it on the road. and when I'm driving I can now and then smell gas also. does anyone have any ideas???

I would sure appreciate it thanks guys

------------------

:P

Guest Frank280z

I guess you could start by turning the mixture screws in all the way and backing out 1 1/2 to 2 turns to start. Check for vaccuum leaks.....Where is Uniontown? I'm up in the NE section of PA. Frank

------------------

Build it. Drive it. Improve it.

Great to hear it's going:-)

HP Books 'Rochester Carbeurators by Doug Roe' is a good qjet book

As Frank says the mixture screws affect idle/light throttle in varying ways. What worked really well for me on tuning my qjet for light throttle was this...

-start with screws where they are or go all thy way in and then out as Frank says (don't turn in too tight! you can damage them), then progressively turn in both screws a 1/4 turn

-take it out and in 1st gear run it up to 3k/4k rpm or so and back right off....when you back off if you get an intake 'popcorn' you're lean, if not lean progressively go in until you are, once you are back one out at a time 1/8 turn until the popcorn (you'll hear some harmless popping at the air filter area) is gone and I found that my best set. This assumes your timing etc is close in the ballpark as retarded timing can have similar symptoms so's you know. (found this worked great before I started getting more of the tools I have now)