HybridZ

Little Heartbroken about perfect swap that never was..

ericp501

So I've been keeping an eye out for a L28et to swap into my 76 280z.   So this weekend I decided to go to a few junkyards in my area cause.. why not.  I couldn't believe it, at the 3rd place I stopped at an old yard all the way in the back, was a 280zx turbo.. exactly what I was looking for!  It gets better..  The engine looked absolutely amazing, super clean with a newer battery in the car, last inspect 4 years ago, only 79k miles!!!   

I'm new to this particle yard which is full of overgrown grass, and crazy old cars, a true rotting junk yard.  I find the old guy that runs the yard to ask him how much the motor with the wire harness would be.  $700.. WHAT!?  that seemed crazy expensive.. what about the whole car?  $1,500 WHAT?!  Tell him I'll think about it..

I think about it all night and decide I really want that motor, I'll take the whole car for $1,500 part it out and see if I can get close to breaking even.

I call the yard the next day and talk to a very nice lady who says they're closed but she'll let the old guy know I'd like to come in.