HybridZ

Companion flange 27 spline idea

jthom5147

I want to start off by saying:

1) I'm not an engineer

2) Im not a mechanic by trade

3) if this idea is absurd, which it most likely is, then great.... but I'm trying to start the discussion to understand then WHY it's absurd.

I had been working on my axle setup for a while, not being able to stomach the $ for quality companion flanges, so I did some google searching and found a commercially available 27 spline pinion flange(available from multiple manufacturers and sources). I bought one because research and the spline shape and diameter match the 280z stub axles that I have lying around.

It's not a direct fit with the OE 4-bolt u-joint companion flange though. The OD where the grease seal is a few mm smaller than the OE unit. Don't have exact measurements in front of me. If i am looking at the z rear bearing assembly correctly, the companion flange isn't a bearing surface, so the reduced diameter wouldn't change anything mechanically? Just require different seals.

And the throat for the splines is longer. This could be overcome through modifications?

At $40-60ish each, I can muck up 10 before I've gone through a pair of good quality ones.

Here is one example

http://www.coreswest.com/blank-toyota-flange-fits-27-spline-pinion-and-transfer-case-trail-gear/

So, in short, using a pinion flange as a axle companion flange.Thoughts?

Edited by jthom5147

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I want to start off by saying:

1) I'm not an engineer

2) Im not a mechanic by trade

3) if this idea is absurd, which it most likely is, then great.... but I'm trying to start the discussion to understand then WHY it's absurd.