HybridZ

RB20DET vacuum troubles....

GabeDiaZ27

Ok so recently I have been plagued with some rb problems. The engine will behave fine but when under boost the engine will bog/stutter kind of like a rev limiter or two step kind of deal but it wont rev much higher than maybe 4k-5k rpm. when there is no load on the engine (in neutral or clutch in) it will rev fine but not while in gear. So I did a lot of trouble shooting and found the cause of the problem, as the engine revs up the vacuum is INCREASING and causing my FPR to cut the fuel down to around 20 psi or so. From my understanding as the rpms rise the vacuum is supposed to DECREASE and go into positive pressure as the boost comes on but it seems that the opposite is happening. Im no master mechanic so I am just wondering what is causing this. could it be a timing chain slipped or something? Im honestly stumped and I cant find much info on this so I need some help or at least a way around this, Thanks in advance.

Given the same load requirement, the higher the RPM the lower the vacuum will be. For instance, cruising at 50mph in 5th may require -10 to -5 inches mercury vacuum, but at in 2nd at 5500rpm, it'll probably be like -18 to -20 vacuum. 

You're assumptions of vacuum and revs are incorrect.

What you're experiencing is that the engine can rev freely at very little load, but struggles to rev when high load is put on. 

This could be:

1) Bad coil packs. These engines are notorious for bad coils. When boost comes on, the mixture is much more dense and much harder for the spark to fire. bad coils mean the engine stumbles, pops, etc.

2) bad/fouled spark plugs. Same log as above

3) Are you running the stock ECU and the stock Airflow meter in roughly the same configuration it was used from the factory? changins to the intake flow path can affect the tune of the engine.

4) Vacuum/boost leak. Make sure you're hoses are all tight. Perform a boost leak test if you can.