#1 240zethan

240zethan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • LocationMichigan

Posted 19 February 2017 - 01:57 PM

Hi,

I am new to this forum and was just looking for some general information on some rust repair I will be doing soon. My z has some rust on the hatch sill plate and I bought a new panel that was cut out from a parts car. The piece I bought is the sill and the latch mechanism. The piece has the about 6 inches of the tail light panel attached underneath it also. I have also attached a picture of the piece I bought for reference. I was just looking for any advice on replacing this part. I was planning on just cutting out the part on my car and welding in the new one but I have never done this before so I'm just looking for anyone who has done something like this.

Thanks in advance!

-Ethan

Attached Files

#2 grannyknot

grannyknot

Always Here

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • LocationOntario

Posted 19 February 2017 - 03:17 PM

Well, if you have never done anything like this before you should really practice before you start cutting into your car. Hit you tube and watch some vids,  It is probably just your sill plate that needs replacing so you have get yourself a spot weld drill and separate the sill plate from the rest and the same on your replacement piece. Once you get the rusty sill plate off you car it will look something like this,

Attached File  DSCN1222.JPG   236.56KB   1 downloads

You will need to grind down any rust that remains under the sill plate so that both the car and the replacement are clean bare steel.

It's not that this can't be a DIY job but if you want quality result this can't be the first project that you start with.

#3 240zethan

240zethan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • LocationMichigan

Posted 19 February 2017 - 03:44 PM