HybridZ

Dammit here we go

I'm curious to know why the fuel cell? Problem with the stock tank? Save weight? Certainly it will be less convenient when it come time to add gas to it. And this I know because I swapped one into an Alfa Romeo and had to pop the trunk, pull out any luggage if we were travelling, and then very carefully fill it. I had to lift the nozzle away carefully so that last drop didn't hit the outside of the tank or fall into the trunk and stink up the luggage. (I did it to save weight--and in fact stripped out almost 400 pounds from that tiny car. Made a nice difference at the track.)

This isn't idle curiosity. I want to consider the pros and cons, because I'm just getting started on a 280Z with a 350 and am firming up  plans for the project.

The previous tank was a plastic jazz cell. Most of this cars time is spent on the track but it is tagged and insured. The plastic cell was always in the back of my mind.  Between  the cell and the cage for the cell,  I’m sure this set up weighs more than the stock tank. If this car was primarily a street car I would have left the stock tank. 

When you built that engine, how close did the rear surface of the block check to being perpendicular to the crank C/L?  It should be less than 0.002" max.  You should also indicate the bellhousing to be sure the radial runout is less than 0.001".  Any more than that and you'll have shifting issues for sure.  Very imp on a T56.

jt1 as usual you bring a level of detail and expertise that I normally get to after I’ve broken things 3-4 times.  The block is perfect. The bell housing was out of spec by a couple of thousands. I can only imagine the shifting issues this would have caused.

I was able to use a plumb bob, carpenters square and a finger nail file to bring it back into spec.  Again appreciate your input on this project.