HybridZ

'78 Factory A/C Relay Wiring Questions

CLIFFS NOTES:

Has anyone replaced the factory A/C relay with an aftermarket relay? If so, what specs did you get and how did you wire it up? 

LONG VERSION:

Almost done returning my 280Z to functioning factory A/C after a previous owner's questionable retrofit/repair job. One of the last pieces I am missing is the factory A/C relay. It is missing completely and it is super hard to find without spending $80+.

Question #1 - Can it be replaced with a standard off-the-shelf relay? I would assume so, but I am not sure the specs on the factory one.

Question #2 - How would it be wired? It's not super straight forward on the factory wiring diagram side. I have stared at it for hours and I can't confidently figure it out.

There are 4 wires from the factory, 2x LY, L, and Y

Usually on a relay you have constant power, power from the switch, power to the component you're trying to turn on, and ground. I am no wiring expert but I cannot for the life of me figure out how the factory wiring diagram gets all those things to the relay.

The LY wires appear to be the power wires from the switch. It can be traced from the fuse box to the blower motor and a/c resistor (switch), then it runs to the relay where it splits into 3. Two of the LY wires go to the relay, the other goes to the F.I.C.D. Why are there two LY wires going to the relay when the originate from the same main wire?

The L wire, this one is pretty clearly the power to the compressor and it also branches off to the F.I.C.D. The A/C is switched on, the relay triggers and sends power to the compressor and F.I.C.D. Got it. That's the only easy one.

The Y wire goes from the relay to the Pressure Switch.

Which one is ground? Which one is 12V constant? It's driving me crazy!

Thanks in advance for any help!