HybridZ

Cam Selection..Schneider vs Isky

S30TRBO

I have been reading about camshafts on and off all weekend long. For my target horsepower would I be better going with one of there off the shelf cams or a custom ground? I'm not that versed on cams where I would know how to figure out what custom ground unless the ones they carry won't help me reach my horsepower goal.

Any recommendations on either one? Or is there another manufacturer out there (i.e. Web Cams, Crane) that will help me better than the two I listed?

http://iskycams.com/pdfcatalog/2004-05/page176.pdf

http://www.schneidercams.com/cams/50.htm

Thanks,

im not a pro in the area of cams. but in my opinion schneider cams are the way to go. most of their cams have an asymetrical grind, which is better for the valve train. i called them up and a cam goes for like $175. i believe MSA sells schneider cams. schneider provides cams for many race cars on the west coast and they have a real good reputation.

although i have not looked into isky cams as much so my vote is fairly biased.

im not a pro in the area of cams. but in my opinion schneider cams are the way to go. most of their cams have an asymetrical grind' date=' which is better for the valve train. i called them up and a cam goes for like $175. i believe MSA sells schneider cams. schneider provides cams for many race cars on the west coast and they have a real good reputation.

although i have not looked into isky cams as much so my vote is fairly biased.[/quote']

I will chime in and say that Isky is probably one of the few originators of the Assymetric Cam grind for the Datsun developed by Ron Iskendarian when he returned from the service and started working on R&D in conjunction with E'motive team at the time.

The others would be Racer Brown, and from what I uderstand now, Sunbelt.