HybridZ

MIG welding

pjo046

I have been using my electric welder for some months now, and have learned how to do it by now. The only problem with electric welding is that I can't weld stainless or aluminium. The welder I have is a combined electric and MIG/TIG welder.

So, is it hard to do MIG welding compared to el-welding? When MIG welding, do you have to refill the gas bottle often, or is it very little gas that is used each time? I have never used a MIG or seen others do it, so if someone could explain what it involves that would be great. Is it hard to adjust the gas pressure properly etc?

Would like to be able to make the stainless exhaust system, the intercooler piping etc myself. :-)

Also, is there a problem with welding steel/stainless steel brackets onto an aluminium intercooler? The sparco unit I have came without any brackets on it... Also the flange for my Blitz BOV is steel, whereas my intercooler piping is stainless steel.

I'm not an expert welder, but I've done a little MIG welding and just bought myself a Millermatic 175 (beautiful machine) recently. If you're going to get a MIG, get one with infinite voltage regulation and wire speed. Also, buy a more powerful welder than you think you'll need... you can use a big welder to weld small stuff, but can't use a small welder to safely do big stuff as easily.

MIG welding is pretty easy in my opinion... I have an 80 cu. ft. bottle... so it lasts a long time. Really, you don't use a ton of gas... and it is simple to set the pressure. Just turn the regulater dial, pull the trigger and see what pressure reading you get... then adjust accordingly.

When welding aluminum or stainless with a MIG though you need some slightly different equipment. You'll need a special gun for aluminum wire feed. Also, when welding aluminum or stainless (versus regular mild steel) you should use a different gas mixture.