HybridZ

Overheating problems/symptoms

Ok, i've been overheating on and off for a while now and I think i'm on the brink of finding the culprit.

Symptoms: Start car, everything is fine. I can drive about 5 miles or so with no problems. Temp guage stays bellow half way.

Once car starts to get warm the car starts to overheat RAPIDLY. IF I open the hood in a hurry and open the rad cap (with towels ontop of it of course) much air comes out, then maybe a small amount of coolant. Once I put the cap back on the temp goes back down to normal and is stable.

The pump pulls from the top right? It seems to me I'm getting air into the system somehow wich means the coolant level is too low to reach the intake hose correct? Could this simply be a bad rad cap? I've never changed it and i've been driving it now for about 1 1/2 years.

On a final note I love you hybridz and you guys always seem to be able to make up for my huge ignorance.

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

then why is the thermostat on the top? All the cars i've worked on previously (not a huge variety I should add) draw coolant from the direction that the valve is located to let it in from that location..

Hmm, time to take it out and make sure it's functioning and installed correctly then.

TheNeedForZ The pump draws from the bottom of the radiator. After being circulated, the coolant is dumped back into radiator thru the top.

Yap thats the way it works. You probably have a bad rad cap, letting air into the system.

may be way off but ......

mine had a similar poblem just after rebuild.....check your thermostat and housing for any crud that may have blocked it up.....make sure it all clean...although it seems this isn't your issue cause u can 'let it off' check neway....