HybridZ

How To Color Your Z on PHOTOSHOP...A tutorial for absolute beginners...

MOTORHEAD427

How To Color Your Z on PHOTOSHOP...A tutorial for absolute beginners...

Hi there.

I've been using Photoshop on a daily basis for over 15 years.

I use Photoshop for work and for fun.

I use Photoshop CS but any Photoshop newer than Photoshop 8 should do this kind of work just fine...

Photoshop can become very complicated if you don't understand what it is based on:

Understanding resolution, selections and layers.

Resolution is the picture quality of your image. It`s measured by "Dots Per Inch. The number of DOTS(pixels) per every inch. More dots the better.

Selections basically define your work area and layers are very much like the layers of an onion.

Let's say you have a slice of onion with 8 layers. You want to mark something on each layer. What do you do?

Layers.jpg

Photoshop layers work in a very similar way.

You can create layers and you have to choose the layer you want to work on.

You can place a layer on top of another or vice versa. You can delete them, you can cut them, you can remove from them or you can add to them.

In this tutorial, I`ll try and show you the cleanest way to alter an image.

But first, open Photoshop, open the picture you want to work on and then go to WINDOWS on top menu (Between VIEW and HELP) and turn off everything except:

History

Layers

Channels

Tools

Swatches

The rest, you do NOT need...

First to do:

You want a clear, nice quality picture.

Go to IMAGE on top menu and find IMAGE SIZE.

PTZ1.jpg

Think "Letter size" which is 8.5 x 11 in. You want your picture to fit on a letter size paper when you print it out. So change the WIDTH to about 10 in. Photoshop will adjust the height automatically, keeping the proportions.

Change the resolution to 300 dpi. And click OK.

Now to see the whole image go to: VIEW on top menu and click on FIT ON SCREEN.