HybridZ

RB26DETT into 240Z Beginner Progress

getoffmyinternet

Am I a complete idiot?  

32 members have voted

1. 1. Am I a complete idiot?

• Yes, either that or completely insane.
    • No, props to you!

Basically, I have been looking around this site all day since I got my 240z with an l28 and a 5 speed from a 280 last week. I was planning on driving it for a while before on embarking on such a feat, but it seems that the engine's best day was the one I went and bought the car, so I've decided to jump right into a swap.

Today I picked up an rb26 with an rb25 trans with "uncut" harness basically fresh off the boat. I didn't see any forums that went through the whole process of swapping the engine, and as a beginner myself, I think it would make for a useful read for any other's out there that are thinking of doing the same thing. Hopefully it will prove to be encouraging and helpful. I'm not at all an expert on the matter, but my old man has been an expert mechanic his whole life, and there's plenty of literature on the internet in bits and pieces, so with my brains, his brawn, and a little help from this site (especially that really nice wiring writeup), I'm about to attempt to make it happen. I'll try to take as many good pictures as I can as well as post prices, which may also be of use to someone thinking that once they have a long block and a shell they're good to go.

Goal:

engine.jpg

It may be a few weeks before I get my crap all together and you actually see real progress, as all projects go, but I don't think I'm in over my head yet (I guess we'll find out!).

The car cost me $2600. Please don't pm me saying I spent too much and crap, I really don't think that will help.

The engine and trans cost me $3000. If you can't tell from that photoshop job, it did come with a clutch, starter, alternator, a/c compressor, etc. and supposedly everyhing else I need engine-wise.

The basic grocery list so far (and help me on this part all you want):