HybridZ

Looking at going with a 3.0 stroker from Rebello, or maybe not?

bonfire79

Hey fellas,

This is my first time posting on Hybrid z. I usually spend most of my time over on zcar.com, but I like this site too :icon44:

I recently talked to Dave over at Rebello racing and we talked about a possible motor build for my 280z which is a daily driver. I have a budget around $5000 or so. Here is what Dave had to offer - a new 3.0 L block, stroker crank, camshaft of my choice, turbo oil pump (included), new valvetrain components, pistions, rods, springs, lifters, etc...

And a complete port/polish job on my current N42 head. He also said they would do the megasquirt upgrade for $1K, but I don't think i can afford it on top of everything else.

Dave quoted me $4500 to do the whole thing, and as an added bonus, he said I could just send him my head instead of my whole engine since I live in North Carolina and shipping will be $$$.

I have read alot of posts about the pros/cons of doing stroker motors vs. turbo setups. Seems like most people prefer the turbo setups.

What I really like about Rebellos' offer is that the entire engine will be completely rebuilt with professional quality. However, it sounds so much cheaper to go the turbo route.. on that note, if I went ahead with a turbo engine swap, I would probably want that engine rebuilt since it would most likely come out of a junk yard and might be in not-so-good-condition.

Another thing that I have thought about is doing a bolt on turbo setup to my existing NA engine. I am not quite sure if this is a good idea though. I have heard that is possible if I get the right turbo parts. - AFM, ecu, wiring harness, Turbo unit, downpipe, and exhaust manifold etc. As long as I don't go too high on boost, it should be okay. This is what I've been told.