HybridZ

Air Chamber & AAC valve Removal?

Mike Rowe

I am no mechanic also but if you remove the ACC won't your idle hunt for a speed while cold. I would think it would surge up and down till fully warm.

Might not even idle fast enough when cold...unless you have some way to manually open it. I forget which is which, but there is a valve just for the A/C, and one just for the idle. The A/C one you can probably do without (obviously if you don't have A/C). Are you using a stock ECU?

Other solution is to use one of the coil type Auxilary valves for warmup. It just lets more air in for a while till the coil heats up and shuts it (apply 12v at startup). That's a common solution for cold starts on megasquirt cars that don't want to deal with an idle valve. (like any of these: http://www.carpartswholesale.com/parts/nissan/nx/auxiliary_air_valve.html )

Mark

I removed my AAC on my RB20 with no problems at all! Starts up and idles fine....but then I dont drive the Z when its really cold....by Ontario standards.

Hi Jerry thanks for your feedback. Under the collector assembley on the RB26 is an air chamber with the AAC valve attached to that - did you just remove the valve or the whole air chamber and hoses hanging off it?

regards

Might not even idle fast enough when cold...unless you have some way to manually open it. I forget which is which, but there is a valve just for the A/C, and one just for the idle. The A/C one you can probably do without (obviously if you don't have A/C). Are you using a stock ECU?

Hi Mark thanks for your comments. I am going to use A/C so do I have to have it for that? I have the stock ECU but also have bought an Apexi Dejetro which I will use after I get it started for the first time - or should I just start with the Apexi?

regards