HybridZ

280zx sputtering problems/backfiring while driving.

Well this is a problem i've been battling for a few months and I decided to see if you guys could help me out because i'm confounded.

I have a 83 280zx with a 81 zxt swap in it. The car starts up, used to run great but now it drives like crap.

When I go to drive, 80% of the time the car will bog down, stutter alot, possibly backfire and just generally run like crap. The noise it makes is hard to describe.... It's like if you made a farting noise with your tongue.. lol

(I can throw something on youtube if you guys want to hear it)

I can get through it sometimes by pressing the pedal but most of that time it just backfires and sounds god awful.

I have replaced the fuel pump with a walboro, tps, fuel filter, switched over to a 83 dizzy, head temp sensor, double checked all my wires, triple checked my timing and checked for boost leaks.

Have any of you heard heard of something like this? The only thing I haven't changed out yet is my afm. It was obviously opened before I bought it, but seemed to work great.

Like I said.. this just started happening out of nowhere and my wallet is beginning to get unhappy from parts and shipping costs :D

• 3 weeks later...
Well this is a problem i've been battling for a few months and I decided to see if you guys could help me out because i'm confounded.

I have a 83 280zx with a 81 zxt swap in it. The car starts up, used to run great but now it drives like crap.

When I go to drive, 80% of the time the car will bog down, stutter alot, possibly backfire and just generally run like crap. The noise it makes is hard to describe.... It's like if you made a farting noise with your tongue.. lol

(I can throw something on youtube if you guys want to hear it)

I can get through it sometimes by pressing the pedal but most of that time it just backfires and sounds god awful.