HybridZ

Cant get brake pads to fit

This seems real stupid. But I took my brake pads, rotor, and yoke off to fix a clicking noise. And now I can't get them to fit back together. The yoke will bolt back on, and the rotor will bolt in place, but i cant fit the brake pads back in. Any ideas? This is my first time ever taking the brakes apart, so theres a good chance it could just be a mistake I made somewhere...

YOKE?........Brakes???????

These two don't go together. Did you press the pistons back into the caliper?

If this question does not make sense to you..........You need to read, and learn ......... :blink:

lol i was quoting out of the service manual. Umm...when i said yoke i was referring to the thing that bolts onto the frame and hold the piston and brake pads around the rotor. And yes, i pressed the piston all the way back into the caliper. Im uploading the brake service manual in case im still calling the parts the wrong names, im getting it from page BR-8.

BR Brake.pdf

Edited by gunskill

Are we talking about.............Rear disc brakes on a 280zx ??? :rolleyes:

I apologize... :oops: ..yoke is not an often heard term when it comes to brakes!!! I have seen very few over the years.

However, with the piston fully compressed into the caliper.....there should not be a problem fitting the pads...........

Edited by jasper

Are we talking about.............Rear disc brakes on a 280zx ??? :rolleyes:

I apologize... :oops: ..yoke is not an often heard term when it comes to brakes!!! I have seen very few over the years.

However, with the piston fully compressed into the caliper.....there should not be a problem fitting the pads...........

Yep =), lol i forgot to specify that part. 1981 280zx t-tops non turbo, rear disk brakes.