HybridZ

cheapest and easiest swap for 260z/280z

Hello to everyone I am new to the classic z world and plan on picking up a 260 or 280 within the months Ive been doing some research on trying to find the cheapest and easiest swap for the datsun I guess I could start off by tellling you guys my goal for the over all car till im done with college and that is something to drive around on the weekends for a little joy ride ;) not looking to make huge gains in hp but something that still has a little get up and go when I want it I am also focused on a reliability. So far from my research the only thing I could really come up with is just swapping in a l28 rebuilt long block from this website called www.datsunpartsllc.com

Any information would be nice I am a long time honda fan who has stepped to the other side ;) haha I can talk for days about that whole scene but no nothing at all about nissans please any help would be greatly appreciated

Just get a running car, replace and clean the engine up, strip the interior, get a higher ratio diff and do suspension/wheels and tires. It will feel much faster.

It will also leave room for you to gather parts while having a car to drive around in. Any swap will have your car put in down time. Everything I listed can be done in a day, or weekend if you're meticulous, and they will all need to be done eventually.

Cheap, reliable, and a little get-up and go? Sounds like an L28ET. I'd say keep it traditional in-line 6 and get a turbo engine for a bolt-on and mod it.

"cheap and easy" are not good qualities when looking to do a swap.