HybridZ

Not sure what engine to get!

I'm still in the process of buying a Datsun, my goal is for a 240z but I've runned into 280z more often so I might go with that! Either way, I'm looking to replace the engine (whether it's got one or not) with a V6! I don't know much about engine since this is my first project car and hope to learn from this adventure to perhaps build a career! Got to start somewhere right!

Anyways I want a V6 that has turbo capabilities, what I mean is that I want an engine I can run and down the road I can turbocharge it! My goal is to push above 200HP, however I don't know any specific into buying an engine and what will be good for the two mentioned cars above. What would you recommend? I'm trying to budget an engine to be under $2000 but willing to go to $3000, I'm hoping to get it used and get everything rebuild or cleaned so the cheaper the engine the better (not cheap quality obviously)!

Any recommendation, and recommend anything or resources to learn what exactly goes in an engine etc!

Thanks !

I'm looking to replace the engine (whether it's got one or not) with a V6! I don't know much about engine since this is my first project car and hope to learn from this adventure to perhaps build a career! Got to start somewhere right!

A V6 transplant in to a Z car isn't the best starting point for "learning about engines".  Get a 280Z with stock EFI and you'll learn a ton about the basics of electronic fuel injection, electronic ignition, and engine mechanicals on an engine you'll actually have room to work on.  Then choose a path to another engine and more power.  You'll be better off in the long run..

I agree with NewZed. 

Suggestions:

• If doing a V8 swap buy the Jags that Run (JTR) book and read it at least 5 times. Book is useful for any engine swap.
  • Buy books/manuals for the engine and transmission you want to use.
  • Download a Factory Service Manual (FSM) and buy a Haynes repair manual for your specific car.