HybridZ

V8 vs Inline four???

:-D Hello guys:

:?: I just got a quick question? How come a Honda inline four from an S2000 is able to produce 250hp being that it's only a 2 liter engine and how come a '98 Camaro Z28 produce only 300hp if it's a 5.7 liter engine... :bonk: that's a big difference in diplacement. I just started learning about cars and that's one of my big questions. I know doesn't really have much to do with the Z cars but the thing is that nobody has been able to answer my question...I'm just wondering. Thanks for the help! :P

• Replies 146
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Horsepower is an equation that is derived from an obscure relation to how far a horse can lift/pull 33,000 lbs.

quote from howstuffworks.com:

"What horsepower means is this: In Watt's judgement, one horse can do 33,000 foot-pounds of work every minute. So, imagine a horse raising coal out of a coal mine as shown above. A horse exerting 1 horsepower can raise 330 pounds of coal 100 feet in a minute, or 33 pounds of coal 1,000 feet in one minute, or 1,000 pounds 33 feet in one minute. You can make up whatever combination of feet and pounds you like. As long as the product is 33,000 foot-pounds in one minute, you have a horsepower. "

End quote.

Therefore, a smaller engine can create more HP per unit of displacement simply due to the fact that they can reach higher RPMs. They can do this because they generally have less rotating mass in the engine, and therefore less overall friction, parts can be lighter, and can be moved more easily...

Torque is where you get an actual direct equation for determining "power output"

here is a definition of the word torque from merriam webster online:

"Main Entry: 2torque

Function: noun

Etymology: Latin torquEre to twist

Date: circa 1884