HybridZ

1974 260Z track car. Ground Up.

Hello,

My name is Justin, I'm from Wisconsin. 21 years old.

-Welder by profession.

-Hobbies.. Well, I like to do fabrication. Currently working on a full exhaust system for my STI. I also like to do carbon fiber work. I'm hoping I get to stretch my wings a bit and go a bit crazy with the carbon/fabrication work on the Z.

-Other rides(currently); 2006 Yamaha R1

2004 Subaru Impreza WRX STI

-Plans for car; RB25DET 5-speed, track car with a decent body to be shown at car shows. (also street driven).

Here is the car we bought, but haven't picked up yet.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300133559210&ssPageName=ADME:B:EOIBSA:MT:11

A friend (Mike) and I have purchased a 260Z project car. We still have yet to pick it up. I would like to get a solid play by play list of things-2-do before we get caught up in the project.

The first thing I would like to do is to get the motor running, and drive the car a little bit, to get that vintage feel!!

In the ad it says that the motor will turn over when the starter is jumped, but not when the key is turned. Okay, so a starter solenoid. I really guess nobody can trouble shoot the car without having it in their possession. Perhaps it will start right up. Maybe not.. any input?

After we get sick of driving it (or perhaps not driving it) we will start to strip the car down, interior and exterior.

-CHASSIS & BODY (reconditioning)

I'm planning on having the body sand blasted, and hopefully it doesn't turn into swiss cheese. After that we will address any areas with new sheet metal.. hopefully not too many places. And all the low spots will be filled with lead. Fill all bumper mounts, trim holes etc..

Now here is where I really would like some input from the guys who have been at these stages before.

-What can I do at these stages to increase handling and rigidity?