HybridZ

Need advice from people who have own Z cars

Hi im new to the forums and this is my first post. For about 2 months now i have been looking to buy a 240 or 260z. I want these years because i live in Ca and want to get around the smog laws here. The z's that i have gone to look at seem like they will be too much work to keep running as an everyday driver and im on a budget since im a college student and am currently unemployed. Now here is what i need some thoughts and advice on.

I was thinking of buying a 81-83 non turbo 280zx thats in good running condition since they are less expensive than 240's that ive looked at and seem to be more complete for my price range. I was thinking that after driving the zx for a year or two and once I start my job after i get a degree of swapping out the whole drive train of the zx into a 240z shell or just maybe a non running 240z that is complete. Ive been wondering if this would be better for what i want to do. I eventually want to have a 240 or 60 with a L28, five speed and r200 differential and maybe keeping the efi or putting the arizona z car 4 barrel manifold on. Would buying a zx using it for a year then swapping everyting into a 240 be more expensive than trying to find a good reliable 240z?

Full-time student, plus reliable does not equal 30 year old car! I'm sure others have done it before, but from what I've experienced, these cars are addictive and money pits on wheels. You will always be "improving" something or "fixing" something else.