HybridZ

buick conversion for 260z? what hp?

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

I am investigating the possibility of converting my 260z to either a Range Rover /leyland v8 or a buick turbo v6. What makes the buick v6 a good conversion and why?There are plenty of these engines for sale - but what gearbox is best and what car are they from? What hp range can be expected? icon_eek.gif

The Buick engine is a very good solid motor with the great ability to be tweaked for even greater performance. There are a host of ggodies available for upgrading the motors although one can expect well over 300+ for just a stock motor. I'm no expert on these engines--Scottie is--but I have read about them, and the guys that run them absolutley love them. The 200R4 is the tranny I believe that they are linked to. This seems the be the best one--if you look in the search function of the forum, you'll find a lot of information about the motors, the transmissions and the potiential.

All said, the Rover V8 is plentiful where you live and is a great performer as well. I really don't think you can go wrong with either--but the Buick motor has a much higher horsepower potential than the V8.

David

Nick,

one of your mates has a really sweet V-8 swap. I cannot remember his name so do a search. If I recall, he appeared to have a healthy investment in that setup so judge your decision accordingly. The V-6 turbo was available in the US in the Turbo Regal, Grand National(X) and Turbo Trans Am. I do not know if it was offered in any Aussie-based GM vehicles. It was only available only with the TH200R4 4-speed automatic tranny. The Buick folks stick with the auto because the manual requires work/expense to fit and supposedly loses performance. This though is from a drag racing perspective.