HybridZ

turbo 240z conversion

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

well im new to writing in the forum but have ben following for awhile and it is time to make my currently blown up car faster. this is what i want to do... i found a 82 280z motor and dogamatic tranny with 40,000 miles on it for 250$ and i found a 82 280z turbo smashed with 100,000 on it im hoping i can make one out of the 2 i know the 280 turbo swap has ben done many times but im thinking the turbo motor probably has seen better days what are the differances betweent the turbo motor and the non turbo would it be possible to switch the turbo manifold and intake onto the other motor? heres the next prob since the 280 turbo is a dogamatic is the wiring different or will i still beable to swap all of the wiring harness into my car? i really wish i didnt have to but stand alone is out of the budget for the time being . finnaly the motor i have in my car now is a faily built 2.4 it has a cam (no idea what cam) alum pistons and twin webber carbs with a 2.5 exhaust and a header would the car be faster if i i put the webbers on the 2.8 and ran it like that or would it be better to go the turbo rout i know the turbo has way more potential to go faster but would it be the faster of the 2 stock ot with whatever i can get away with with the stock comp. also the webbers seem to be very finniky and dont seem to like sudden corners im thinking f i will help this at least hoping

well sorry about the long post but any help here would be awsome

alab

The turbo efi setup is definately the way to go for any driving styles. Much easier to keep in tune in any climate, more power in stock form, and cool turbo swooshing sound.

Stick with the turbo block, you'll have a nice flowing head on it, along with the low compression need for boost, a high flow oil pump, and flat head pistons with lower ring landers that are able to take on forced induction far better.