HybridZ

air-conditioning??

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

I'm no expert in auto air, but theres quite a few options. Companies like Vintage Air who make it for the older rods might be of help. I was fortunate enough that someone had installed it in my Z but had taken it off in the engine compartment. So, the plan for me when I make the V8 swap is to use the Chevy A/C brackets and plumbing forward of the firewall as the cooling coils are already in my car. You could probably do likewise depending on the year (you mention T tops so I assume your Z is a later model than mine) just find all the Datsun A/C equip. for the year of your car and use ALL of it and make a bracket for whatever engine your using (if its non-stock), or use ALL of the Datsun A/C gear (except the Datsun Compressor) and a Chevy compressor and brackets. Of course this would all have to be worked out by a A/C expert, but thats generally how its done from what I've seen.

My 2 cents worth (depending on the strength of the dollar!).

Lone

[This message has been edited by lonehdrider (edited October 23, 2000).]

I have a R4 comp in mine It was in the car when I got it. Looks like it was not hard to convert... Mine was locked up when I got it and it cost 107 to replace it. I've sealed up the system but will wait until summer then have it charged again. Summer starts around March here in San Antonio... LOL

V U V8ter

I'm pondering this too as I've gotten lucky enough to stumble on some A/C gear - my car had no A/C when I got it. My plan is to use the stock Datsun stuff, apparently easy to retrofit, and then a Chevy compressor.