HybridZ

Diagnostic Software

Guest Locutus

Guest Locutus

Does anyone know of or heard of software you can run on a laptop or desktop pc to turn it into a diagnostic computer for testing and tuning of your vehicle computer. I have 3 different vehicles this would be a advantage to have. I have a 97 Chevy Z71, a Mecury Mystique, and the 88 TPI setup that is going in my Z. I know snap on and those guys sell some stuff but it is way out of my price range. I got plenty of computers, just need connectors and software if they make them.

Mike

PS if there isn't any, anyone with good elec engineering skills(as related to PC peripherals) I am a excellent software engineer(though I currently work as a network engineer, I needed more variety in day to day work) and I would be willing to work on something we can share with our fellow car nuts

Guest Anonymous

Sure do! For anybody doing a late-model Chevy V8 swap with stock sensors/fi, CHECK THIS OUT. http://www.mindspring.com/~amattei/aldl.htm

I have already built the interface for my 95 lt1. This device interfaces the engine's computer to the serial port of any laptop/desktop computer. It is completely compatible with the LT1 edit software. AND, the site has info on the 'API', so to speak, for the 9x LT1 computers. Basically it tells you the memory map of the computer. I am a programmer and I play with electronics some.. but I don't think I have the time to build a monitoring/editing tool. I'm just going to fork out the cash for LT1Edit.

Also, I strongly recommend visiting lt1.net and lt1.net/editor. (home of LT1 Edit)

If you want to go nuts like I did.. smile.gif