HybridZ

Fiberglass front end---Hey Speeder

Guest Grenade300

Guest Grenade300

Hey I just ran across a deal on a new fiberglass front end for the 240Z for $500. Should I go for it?

I am putting in an LS1 and T-56. I plan to use the Type 3 body kit from MSA. I will be bolting and molding on the body kit. I then plan to customize and intake into the hood like the Trans am WS6 had. I also plan to put ducts on the side like the corvette has.

I am really good at metal work and know I could do the customizing I want on metal pretty easily. However, I have never worked with fiberglass before. I will be working on doing a center console in fiberglass soon so I can get some experience.

What I'm asking is how hard would it be to do the customizing I want to do on fiberglass?

I plan do some reading on this subject regardless, so what are some good books on working with fiberglass?

I would be doing a lot of practicing before I tore into a pure fiberglass front end so don't worry.

Speeder- I love the work you've done on "Porkchop" it is awesome! Since I know you have a full fiberglass front end may be you could answer some these questions. Also, from your opinion, is the fiberglass front end worth it? What are some of the problems you ran into? Would you put the fiberglass front end on again if you had to do it all over again?

Thanks for the help,

Scott

PS- Does anybody know where I can get a "Kaminari" wing or a "California Z wing"? I am debating between that style and the IMSA wing. to go with the Type 3 body kit from MSA. Which one do you guys think would look better?

It really depends on who it is made by. Is it fiberglass fneders and a hood? Or is it all one piece? Fiberglass is nice to work with since you are only limted by your imagination, but get ready to itch! It does take some practice but it is easy to grind things off and start over. I have some limited experience so feel free to contact me directly if needed.

Where to start?