HybridZ

v-8 swap for '80 280zx

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Hello,

I am a newbie to the z cars so please forgive my ignorance. I want to perform a v-8 swap for my 1980 280zx. My question is not about about the motor itself, i have had plenty of experience with v-8's. The question is where to find a kit for my car. I have read through the forum and the more I read the more confused I get. Is it that hard to swap a v-8 into a zx or is it that hard to find a kit? Could someone please tell me where I can find a compleate kit? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for helping a newbie.

Welcome to the forum! You will find this place to be your best resource for doing a complete swap. icon_smile.gif

Now, the ZX V8 swap is not as popular as the first generation Z swap, but it is fantastic nonetheless and you'll enjoy the car. Ross Corrigan is a friend in Canada who has done this swap successfully, knows what he is talking about, and fortunately posts often.

First bit of advice for anyone doing this swap: get the JTR manual and read it several times to familiarize yourself with the steps and items you will have to deal with when doing the swap. The book applies to first generation Z cars, but the book is very helpful overall; plus, if you don't need the book anymore, you can sell it in this forum in a heartbeat...

To answer your question quickly, you can purchase engine swap items from JTR and from MSA. www.jtrpublishing.com www.zcarparts.com

Hope this helps, but continually ask questions before you jump into a major part of the swap so you will get the benefit of of at least another person's best guess icon_biggrin.gif

Good luck,

David

Guest Anonymous