HybridZ

Help with my new 280ZX

Guest alfred182

Guest alfred182

Hi. I'm new here. I just got a 1979 280ZX. I wanna fix this car up starting with the engine, then get a paint job, and then fix the interior.

I'm REALLY new at cars and I need some ideas as to how to go about this. I would like to make this car into a semi-race car so that I can do some drag racing.

The engine works fine. No oil leaks or funny noises. It was last tunned up in January, according to the previous owner. This ZX reportedly only gives 140hp, and it has no turbo. Can you recommend a way to increase the hp? (supercharger?? change engine??)

I also heard that if you make the suspension tighter, it will handle better. Would it be good to get a stabilizer bar?

I would like to get a nice paint job, but I don't wanna spend 2k on it. Can I really save money by doing some of the prep work myself? What kind of style for paint do you recommend (ie. 1 color, 2 colors)? I was thinking it would look cool if it was all yellow.

I also want to put a tail on it and put a spoiler in the front. Should I do both of these before I get it painted? Is there a good website that sells this, should I go to the dealer, or should I go to a local performance shop?

for the interior, should I go to wrecking yards and try to get a replacement dash, door interior, etc..? or is it better to take it to a body shop and let them do it? If possible, I would like the interior to be black (its beige now).

I was also thinking about replacing the stock seats, which are torn, and I've heard, very heavy, with these: http://www.corbeau.com/brochure/forza.html

What do you think?

Also thinking of getting a momo race steering wheel: http://www.momo.it/

(hehe, my girlfriend's name is Momo ^^)

Hmmm, what else, maybe glow spedometer & etc smile.gif

Please let me know if you have any suggestion. thanks!

Guest bang847

you can make the suggestions but the wallet will decide. cry2.gif

Faster? get a SBC in there..