HybridZ

Different way to do flares

ZROSSA

Guest Anonymous

I asked RacerX about doing this very thing. It obviously can be done, but the amount you can pull it out is limited and it ain't easy. I've welded on thin gauge metal almost exclusively when I was a welder and the warpage is a concern. Done right it could be beautiful, to much heat and it'll be so warped that you'll be wishing you had used glass. I'd give this a advanced metal workers five cuss.gif on a five cuss.gif scale. ;)

Regards,

Lone

Guest Anonymous

Actually, Lone the hardest part of this job is the welding. If you were doing this I would think that welding with just 1/2" welds alternately from F to B would keep the warpage down. As previously stated, the width would be determined by how far out you could "Push" the sheetmetal. I think I might try this on my 360 Celica so I have some sheetmetal to cover the rear wheels. I really like this idea as it doesn't make the car look like it has flares. Kinda like the YZ 280Z kit that John Washington sells.

Guest Anonymous

I totally agree, its just the thickness of the datsun sheetmetal that concerns me. I know how to prevent warpage by spot stitching alternating areas and all that, but on 20 gauge if a guy gets on there and blows holes and has to fill them, or welds to big an area it'll warp. As you probably know all welding causes some degree of warpage, thin sheet will pull together and if not done carefully pull things out of kilter. I agree though thats the hardest part and why I mention it being a advanced technique. I'd try it on a minute on a old 50's chevy with 16 gauge, but 20-22 gauge gets pretty dicey. :D

That said, guys have filled the rain gutters before, so its not impossible, just not for a beginner IMHO.

Regards,

Lone

I had a slightly different idea (that I may actually implement in my lifetime - maybe).