HybridZ

First real Z build...and I could use help.

Hey all. Hoping that this is the right part of the forums to post this sorta stuff in.

Anyways, I picked up a '73 Z about a month ago at the Portland Swap Meet for a steal. It had some of the parts for a V8 conversion, which is what initially sold me (as that's what I wanted to do eventually anyhow). Come to find out it was missing some key pieces...motor mount setbacks being one of them. Found another kit on craigslist and picked it up. Golden. 

The body is in pretty decent condition considering what I've seen when looking at other Z's for sale. Little rust, some hackjob metal work, but nothing I can't repair. I build hot rods for a living, so welding's no big thing. Brakes seem firm, as does steering.

I'll cut to the chase. I've searched, read FAQs, and would've ordered by now if Tokico wasn't having issues. I have questions - but first, my plan.

Chevy v6 out of a '94 pickup (father-in-law's - free!) with 200r4 trans.

Energy Suspension bushing set

ST sway bars front and rear

I WAS going to get that Tokico HP kit that's everywhere on the internets, but alas.

My questions:

Does this seem like a reasonable set up for a 98% street car? I have no plans to race or drag. Just want a driver that's got good, solid handling.

Since Tokico's a ways out, and I want to be on the road ASAP, what's another decent substitute? I don't think I need coilovers, and am a bit nervous about sleeving a brand new set of shocks. I was thinking KYB Gas-a-Just. Any thoughts and opinions are helpful. 

It seems like a lot of you guys set your cars up for the track, so it's hard to find info with a swap AND having it be a street car. 

Don't worry, I'll keep searching and reading. I've got my flamesuit on anyways.

Hey all. Hoping that this is the right part of the forums to post this sorta stuff in.