HybridZ

Head question

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Hi all I have a 72 240z with a l28, headers 2 1/2 pipe, mallory unilite ignition, holley 450 on a Bob sharp racing intake, still have a pair of 72 SU's lying around somewhere that I might use. I have a n42 head that has been ported and polished and shaved .03 or .04 not sure ( anyways I was just wanting to know do I need to shim the cam towers or get a thicker head gasket with this head? Have a p79 on it atm and it has flatop pistons. Any help would be great, Thx

First Questoin(!)...welcome to the site Altar. I'm not an expert on the inline (even tho I'm still an Inliner); however, from all Chevy, Ford, Mopar books I've read on their V8's, they claim the Cylinder Head Gasket is good for absorbing up to .027" of an inch.

The real question would be, "Do you know the past history of your cylinder head/has it been milled before?" If it has, this would beg the question, "How Much?"

The best thing for you to do is to find a local Nissan Dealer (they should know-or know someone in their neighborhood that does know) what the actual thickness of your cylinder head would be if never milled. Once you know what the actual thickness of the cylinder head is and where to take your measurments then you can take your own measurements & deduct that from the original thickness.

Possibly someone else might jump in here who has dabbled in the Inliner Cylinder Head world.

Kevin,

(Yea,Still an Inliner)

Guest Anonymous