HybridZ

I'm going Turbo!!

Guest kc6wfs

hopefully anyhow...

Here is the scoop.

My bro in law has a Air Research turbo set he built a few years ago for a 350 block and set sold it to a friend that never used it.

He says it's 6-9 lb boost with the plate,wastgate,headers,alcohal injector, ect.

Plug and play for the most part. Will have to cut up my headers and retrofit for the Vortec heads.

He does not see to much of a problem with my 9:1 compression as long as I run the alchol injector and 100+ gas.

$300.00 for the set up!!!

What problems do you gurus forsee?

Thanks.

Dave

Dave,

I'm no expert, but I think you should pick up that turbo setup right away! icon_biggrin.gif man, only 300 bones? It would be a neat project, but also think about the money you'll need for a computer/engine management system, like SDS or that kind of thing. Your wife's Mustang is finished already?!? Sheesh, I'm lagging...Seriously, if the turbo does not work out for some odd reason, contact me offline about it.

Davy

quote:

Originally posted by pparaska:

...Traction...

And, if this is a Street Driven Z..that 100+ Octane gas gets pretty expensive after awhile.

Just a thought: but if you do go w/that turbo set up why not put the turbo set up in a safe place somewhere & save up for the proper pistons to lower your comp.ratio.

Or, you could always alter your A/R ratio of the turbo which would aid in the delay of early RPM spool up due to your higher compression: talk to a pro-turbo shop about that one (just a thought).

The turbo set up, once you've purchased them, wont be going anywhere & when you obtain pistons of the correct comp.ratio (to allow street driving w/out the need of 100+ Octain Gas) you can enjoy your "incognito Monster" on the street w/out fear of possible constant detonation.