HybridZ

Dieseling problem with holley Carb

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

I have searched through the archives and noticed that dieseling seems to be a problem with SU's also. My problem is that I am not very experienced with carbs. I have a Bob Sharp intake, stock Holley 390 4 Barrel, Zx Distributor. The engine has a mild cam, and flat tops. I got discouraged with the car when built the engine in 95. Now I have the money to resume the restoration. I installed a new carb on the car, but it still has the dieseling problem. Does anyone have any experience with these carbs, or is my problem else where? The car idles great but takes forever to kill.

Thanks for any help

Travis

Hello, ok I work on cars all day just about everyday. I use to work at a carburetor shop, so I've got some idea about what you are talking about. Ok, the usual reason for the big "D" is airflow. You have the throttle cracked to far open at the base idle. Usually with small primaries on a good breathing engine. What happens is that there is still enough airflow through the carburetor to draw fuel with it.

There are three ways to deal with it, that I can think of right off the top of my head.

1. (a method used in many cars with smaller engines, and many v8's too) Use an idle solinoid. When the key is in the run postion power is applied to this solinoid to raise the base idle speed to what suits you. When the key is turned off the solinoid is shut off, and the setting on the carburetor is low enough to not allow dieseling to occur. You adjust the carburetor's idle setting to a setting low enough for no dieseling. And the solinoid to set the idle speed, which the vehicle runs well at. This is probably the easiest method.