HybridZ

LT 1 Supercharging

jack46

Hello I'm a relative newbie here. I have a 76 260 Z with a 383 Chevy and a th350. With a 3.45 rearend I ran 8.0 in 1/8 last year, and just bought a Vortech supercharger for an LT1.

I want to run 10 lbs of boost I have an LT 1 and want to put in a matched cam and pistons to allow the car to operate correctly when completed. The computer is from a 93 so I will need to get a custom chip (have heard fastchips is the place to go) and wondered if anyone here has a similiar setup?

I'm hoping/expecting the setup to bring about 425 RWHP. Thanks ahead of time I tried searching but didn't have a lot of success

are you talking about Ed from Dyno lad in Alt, GA? IF you are, I'll let you know that he's good. You are going to need a chip anyway plus on top of that, you probably have to fine tune with some sort of translator.

What about something like Accel (isn't it same as DFI?) standalnoe/piggyback?

Ed Wright I believe is with Fastchips.

Why if I get a chip will I need a translator? Don't mean to sound stupid, but this car will be driven 90% of time at track. I feel with the charger, and 4.11 gears it won't be a daily driver, so why will I need a translator? What will the translator accomplish? Is what you are talking about similiar to a programmer (adjust parameters?). Remember this is a 93 non MAF.

you said:

What about something like Accel (isn't it same as DFI?)standalnoe/piggyback?

I have no idea what you meant with this? Are you asking if I will use a digital fuel injection system? I hope to modify the LT 1 to do the job since I have heard many others doing about the same with a modified stock system.