HybridZ

Z31 Reprogramming - question for Bernard

Sean73

I'm just getting started into burning my own ECUs. At this point I am in the information gathering phase and I've been reviewing the stock Z31 and Z32 maps.

I have a 240Z Turbo powered by a stock Z31 harness, ECU, and MAF. At some point I would like to install larger injectors and MAF for more power. Through my research I have found that tweaking the ECU maps for bigger injectors and/or MAF is not just a simple matter of modifying the "K value", and running with it.

Bernard, have you tried copying over the Z32TT maps to the Z31T maps? I realize the two maps are structurally a little different, but wouldn't it be possible to copy the relavant fuel, timing and VQ values from the Z32TT maps to the Z31 maps, since the bins are the same size? I would retain the stock Z31 maps for cold start, and anything else specific to the Z31 sensors.

Then, install injectors equivalent to the Z32TT, and the Z32 MAF to my existing Z31 EFI. I figure this would be easier than custom-tailoring a Z31 map. Just use a stock Z32TT configuration that's known to work reliably to about 350 HP.

Any input appreciated.

I started with a stock fuel/timing maps, then altered for best results. I have not tried any maps from the z32 ecu other than when I switched to the z32 maf I used the tp values from the z32, then altered them. You can copy the maps over and they might work well for you, give them a go and post back.

Bernard

Yes, I removed three resistors that control voltage to an opamp. I don't have the board #'s for them handy at the moment. You will need to use an ecu with a # of the jwt 450hp control system list. They are easily configured to use a different maf. The older ecu's have the components to control the min voltage from the maf on a small board. I never messed with that ecu's maf settings at all, althought it is easily programmed as well.

• 2 weeks later...

Bernard,