HybridZ

I have my timing set but I have to use a large trigger angle? Any suggestions?

Thumper

I have verified that my spark timing is dead on. When I put it too fixed 20 degrees then its at 20 degress the only problem is I have to run the trigger angle at 67 with a trigger addition of 45. So a total of 112! I also have the distributor fully retarded. Why do I have to have it so high? Does it effect anything being this high? I have verified that at tdc my rotor is lined up perfectly at #1 cylinder, I can put a string through the cap and rotor. So its not off a gear cog. Any suggestions? Thanks for your time

Did you set the timing as per the sticky?

ie, found tdc on compression for #1, then backed it off ~50-60, made the MS led turn on by moving the dizzy, then tightening down the dizzy?

My trigger angle is somewhere around there, but I have no trigger addition.

Sorry, don't know about the side-effects though,

Mario

I'm still learning all this, but I don't think you'll have a problem with a high trigger angle. From what I've read, the problem is when you have a low trigger angle like 30-50. Having a low number like that affects your maxium advance you can run, like to only 20-40 degrees.

With my VR distributor, I run 70+22.5, 92.5 to get an accurate light.

I did what moby suggested in his write up but still ended up so high. As long as there is no ill side effects then I won't worry. But if you can think of any I will be happy to redo it again. Only takes a minute or two. Also just an update the car does not like 38 degrees at 5k rpms. I had to turn it down to 30degree so that it wouldn't miss. This sounds like I didn't have enough time to set it but if i'm 112 total trigger then I should have had plenty of time? Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks