HybridZ

msns just died, no spark. looking for ideas

blake culp

Im still pretty new to megasquirt, but i had it up and running pretty well for the past three weeks using mobys base settings posted in the sticky. i just got done putting in a t3/t4 and 450cc injectors got it running again and was in the process of tuning that when i thouhgt i would try using some other peoples msq's who had 450cc injectors. I had my old settings saved so if they didnt work i would just switch back to my previous settings right? nope! i downloaded moblys msq and tried to start my car and it did start although it was really rough and then died. then i reverted back to my saved msq and it still wouldnt run, every now and then it would kick and sputter but definately was not right. Here is what the car is doing now, i am getting no spark. i checked this by pulling a plug and turning the car over and looking for a spark, and by pulling the center coil wire from the distributer and placing it by the engine where it should spark it it was getting power and again no spark. The thing that is weird is when i turn the ignition off it will spark but just once.... i had my four prong gm hei tested and its good, i am guessing the coil is good but i will test it tonight if i can find my manual to get what the ohm readings are supposed to be, But i really dont think it is the coil which would mean it has to be in the megasquirt itself or maybe the wiring. one last thing, the spark angle always reads 0, before when it ran it would ready 5 when cranking, i think, and 17 at idle ,positive about that. Any thoughts?

Sounds like what I went through. You will need to check the spark signal from MS. First of all, if you are using the FIDLE output, make sure you have a 5volt power source connected to the fidle output. Hook up a small LED to the FIDLE wire, when you turn MS on you should see the LED turn on. When you start cranking, you should see the light flicker.