HybridZ

LT-1 Fuel Pump Options?

Hey, all, complete Newbie here. Engine is a '95 Caprice LT-1. It's going in a '48 Chevy, but please ignore that for now. Trying to suss out the fuel system. Contemplating a late model GM tank that'll fit and accept an OEM fuel pump/sender/return/etc module. Have a chance to get a '99 Camaro LS-1 module for $100. Any advice about what GM fuel pumps are up to the task? Where to look for specifications/part numbers, etc? How much pressure/lph (gph?) do I need, and is that all I have to worry about? Is there such a thing as too much? Any help greatly appreciated. There are some genuine geniuses/artists/craftspersons here and I am in awe of what you've done.

Best, Gary

If you are using an LS1 intank module the pump that comes with it will be sufficient for an LT1 up to about 400HP.

The Caprice LT1 has a fuel pressure regulator mounted to the driver's side fuel rail so you'll need to disable the one built into the LS1 intank module.

The LT1 wants about 43 psi, the fuel pressure regulator maintains this using a vacuum signal from the intake manifold. I'm using a Walbro 255 LPH inline pump in the 240 with a Caprice LT1 and have had no problems keeping the correct psi.

You might consider using the entire tank from an LS1 Camaro. They are fairly easy to come by, relatively cheap and should come with the intank module you want to use anyway.

If you do some searching on this site for LS1 tank swaps you'll find information on how to gut the pressure regulator in the LS1 module and some pictures of mounting brackets several guys on here have fabbed up.

Not sure if you've thought about the size of fuel line you're going to run but try and stay with a minimum of 3/8" feed and 5/16" return. I used 3/8" for both just so I didn't have to buy 2 sizes. It's a combination of 3/8" stainless brake line I got from Schucks and high pressure line from a local hydraulic tubing supplier. It's a bit overkill but I don't want problems later.