HybridZ

painting question, just surface primer than paint ok?

love-my-V8-280Z

I removed all the old paint than fine sanded the car, than I applied a high build surface primer straight to the bare metal.. I have been working on my car for several years and it has been sitting with most of the body work done.

I'm getting ready to finish up and paint it.

Well now it seems I have learned that I should have used a expoxy primer than a surface primer.

I would think I asked this question a long time ago but do not remember, Will my final paint job be ok?

Yes you should have primed with a etching primer first, but some primer surfacers can be used as both etching and surfacing...even though there is always a seperate one recommended by most paint comps....It comes down to how good of a primer you used...if it was like ppg's k-36...you prob will not see any problems...if you used the cheap stuff and it has been sitting for a while...that stuff is very porse and will let the humidity oxidize your steel through the primer..and could cause some adhesion problems in the future....Most people will tell you the way to go is a etching primer first, surfacer next, then a siller and then the top coats...All of these have a window to put them on after each other unless you sand before your next step...I would say it is for sure a gamble..sorry...hope this helps

I removed all the old paint than fine sanded the car, than I applied a high build surface primer straight to the bare metal.. I have been working on my car for several years and it has been sitting with most of the body work done.

I'm getting ready to finish up and paint it.

Well now it seems I have learned that I should have used a expoxy primer than a surface primer.

I would think I asked this question a long time ago but do not remember, Will my final paint job be ok?