HybridZ

Dynomation, DynoSim, or Desktop Dyno software?

Filmjay

There are only a couple threads that even mention these programs.

So, I was wondering about their accuracy and reliability....or if they're even worth it.

Last time I paid more than $100 for software, it was putting Vista on a new PC I built. That, and Photoshop. But photoshop has paid for itself in that I make money off of it.

Dynomation is $400 and comes with CamDisk 8($50).

DynoSim5 is $100.

Then there's the good ol' Desktop Dyno 5...$50.

So would anyone have any recommendations? I'm not a pro engine builder. But, I love to bench race. :) And I would just like to compare components before I plunk down a ton of cash...without bugging the heck out of Grumpy all the time. :D

I'm thinking DynoSim5 w/ ProTools. But there are a few key features in Dynomation that I'd like to have handy...namely Intake/Exhaust Pressure analyzation and Intake/Exhaust Runner Modeling...but damn, that's 400 clams.

Thanks,

I don't know anything about the first 2 options. I think I used dektop dyno, or dyno2000 or something before. Not impressed.

I have seen results from Ricardo Wave, and they have been dead nuts on. like, within 2 hp, and the curves match exactly. Those were not easy reults to get though, it takes alot of work to make it accurate. That software is probably quite a bit more expensive. From a quick google, Dynomation seems like it can do some of that stuff. Intake/exhaust harmonics are where its all at, and can make a way bigger difference than you might realize on power curves.

What made a huge difference in our Formula SAE's engine package was Wave's ability to calculate the ideal lengths of the exhaust steps. You can say a 4-2-1 header, specify which cylinders are connected, and then give the tubing diameters you want to use. Wave will then calculate the ideal lengths of all of those. its pretty darn cool.