HybridZ

Electric Fan

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

I may have just doine something stupid. If so, please chastise me lightly, I'm still learning. :-)

I have just installed an electric fan and shroud in my Z. Its a 1 speed junkyard fan, that I believe is out of an 89 ford tempo. I have set it up as a pusher, in addition to the engine fan. I tried to set it up as a puller, but it would not fit between the radiator and water pump.

I wired it straight to the battery for now, with a toggle switch on the dash so I can just turn it on when I have to sit. It sure blows a lot of air, but it seems to run very fast and loud, so I am wondering if I should have hooked it to a lower amp(?) circuit. So... am i going to set my car on fire?

Guys, one of the reasons these Ford fans cool so well is because the blades are design to pull alot of air. But it takes a heck of a motor to turn it. The Cobra GT 4.6L fan I have pulls 35 amps on high. The Cobra electrical system has a special box that controls the AC and fan, and it has relays and a 60 amp fuse in it.

I'd seriously think about using that switch to actuate a relay near the fan. And I'd run a fusible link and probably at least a 10 gage wire from the ALT/Battery to the relay, from the relay to the fan, and grounding the fan with a 10 gage wire. Of course, put a fuse in there too! BTW, if you use wire size of 10 gage, you need a 14 gage fusible link.

I"m with Pete - use a relay on that puppy. the Z electricals are strained enough without us adding things to them. A relay will take nearly ALL of the load off the stock systems. I tend to use fuses rather than links myself but I'm far from an expert on which is better or why.