HybridZ

Replacing quarter panel, questions

Guest JAMIE T

Guest JAMIE T

I am cutting the quarter off a parts car for my '71. I am an experianced welder, so that ain't a problem. I've also done some body work. I just need to know what I should look out for when doing this. Where should I cut the quarter when removing it? There is a stressed point on the pillar, I think that may be where the original panels join. Should I go as far forward as the door jamb? Even replace the door jamb too? I'm going to do this in a weekend, since this is my driver.

Guest Anonymous

I totally agree. Flanged patch panels is just rust waiting to happen. No matter how hard you try with weldable primers and such you have two steel surfaces just waiting for moisture to get them going. Butt weld them, done right and a bit of dolly work from the back side as its cooling down will require very little (actually none if your REALLY good at it, I've seen guys do it) work to be ready for paint, sometimes no filler at all. How its done will depend on how big the quarter patch panel is. The ones I've see on like early mustang was a matter of drilling out spot welds and then skinning off the panel, the new one is clamped and plug welded back in place, the Z should be similar, you'd probably have to rework the lead joint where the panel is welded on top by the hatch.

Regards,

Lone

Guest JAMIE T

Thanks guys. I've got a feel for what I'm in store for, but still wanted to be prepared. I've NEVER done anything like this. I am a welder(8hrs. a day 5 days a week). I am also a perfectionist, so I wont stop until it's RIGHT. I am going to do it over a weekend, so I shouldn't be too rushed. I will have another car to drive if it drags on anyway. Thanks RacerX, I look forward to reading the step-by-step from an experianced body man.

Guest JAMIE T