HybridZ

Wiring Stock Dizzy & Coil => 260z to 280z wiring

Well as much as I hate to do this, my head is in a spin trying to figure out all this wiring. I'm new to this kind of thing. My 260z came with no motor or tranny, and my L28 didn't come with much, so I'm having to pull everything together from various sources.

So far I've figured out that I'm missing the resistor (which a member is sending me), and now I'm thinking I'm also missing the transistor ignition unit. I've done plenty of searching here (about half of today), and couldn't find any pics to confirm, or much discussion for that matter. Also, autozone's website didn't list that they stocked one, so that could be a problem for me.

My dizzy is the two wire type, red and green, by the way. I've included pics of the dizzy and nearby wiring, and the coil, and nearby wiring. The wiring diagrams have helped (included), but not completed the picture for me.

I need to get everything I need rounded up and ready by this weekend, as I'll be receding to the shop in Oklahoma again, and at that point parts runs will be difficult. Any direction is helpful, links included.

EDIT: Oh yeah forgot to mention, I borrowed the first diagram from a pic someone posted on one of the threads I found while searching. Hope that's OK with whoever's it was.

5842_thumb.attach

5843_thumb.attach

ZXDiz_thumb.jpg

260z Wiring Schematic_thumb.jpg

280z Wiring Schematic_thumb.jpg

trumpetrhapsody- I have a 74 260z with a l28 280z motor and will be able to send some pics of the coil and dizzy wireing to you tommorow. Im not sure what time it is over their but it is 8:11pm here. I can send them to you at around 8:00am my time.

Perfect, PERFECT! I now know exactly what I don't have. Now I just need to find out how to get it... THANKS A TON!

So i'm definately missing that thing below the coil, presumably the ignition transistor unit, and the little thing above it, presumably the resistor, a member is sending to me this week.